Closing 2015 and Into 2016

December saw several good things happening. First I released, Seven Deadly Sins Tales on Amazon! People liked “Crazy Moon,” and the following stories have Lou, Moe, and Sheila again tempting people into Faustian bargains based on the seven deadly sins. Nathan James Norman, a pastor and podcaster, read the second of the set, “Sixes Wild” on The Untold Podcast. “Sixes Wild” involves a set of four friends trying to get something for nothing. Nathan contacted me the other day to say that many people have sent fan mail about the story and how it makes them think about what’s truly important. “Crime of Passion” in Seven Deadly Tales is a direct sequel to the events with those four men.

Second I closed out the year with an average of 8,000 words written per month. Pretty good. That’s just under 100,000 words for the year. Naturally, I skip around, not only within the story that I’m working on but between different stories.

Now, like any writer, it’s on to the next idea. At this time, I have several story ideas I could work on next. I’d like to ask my readers what they are most interested in reading.

Complete Joshua’s Pawn Shop – Like Seven Deadly Sins Tales, there are seven stories in this collection. Instead of the seven deadly sins, each story exemplifies one of the cardinal virtues or heavenly graces. I have three of the seven stories done, and the fourth one about three quarters complete. The first of the set, “The Buick Eight” set the stage for a whimsical series of twists and turns like Twilight Zone, but these stories took a turn for the wild side when a Lutheran computer programmer became a demon hunter in “Fun and Games.” Several of my original story nuggets have been tossed. Trust the muse to change things up! Instead of being complete stand alones, four of the seven stories work together when we find the Joshua has a branch store in Arkham, Massachusetts. “Fun and Games” is the first of that set.

Complete Weavings (Sequel to Rebirths) – Rebirths is three, linked novellas/novelettes. My plans for Weavings involve a similar setup of three stories with a vignette introducing each of them. Each vignette will feature a time in Derke’s past, and the following story will show how those events impacted the present of Derke, Syantere’, and Father Phaeus. The prophet, priest, and royal are joined by new characters in their progression. The stakes before were the world’s oldest vampire trying to awaken an ancient horror intent on destroying the world. In Weavings, the world will not be destroyed if they fail, but people will wish it had been.

Complete Old Testament Appreciation – This work of nonfiction started as a series of midweek teachings for church. I am expanding each lesson to be about double its original length. Aimed at the lay person but beneficial for ministers also, the book explores the Old Testament not just as individual books but for the themes that weave throughout them. Themes such as Torah, wisdom, worship, prophets, and others.

Write the second story about the Irish Catholic family of clairvoyants. Their story can be found in Supernatural Colorado, “The Other Cemetery.” Colleen has already found the haunted cemetery in her new hometown. What other adventure awaits in old west Colorado for them? Just like “The Other Cemetery” featured the haunted cemetery of Silver Creek, the plan is for each story to involve an actual ghost story from America’s Old West. That includes a haunted train, a ghost rider, and more.

Something else entirely. Please explain in a comment.

Please vote in the non-binding poll and leave a comment explaining why. The muse may move me differently, but I want to gauge the interest of my readers. The poll will run for one week.

About frankluke

Professionally: pastor, programmer, writer. Personally: husband, father.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Fiction, nonfiction, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Closing 2015 and Into 2016

  1. Monica says:

    I voted for Joshua’s Pawn Shop. I had the chance to read most of the Lou stories individually, and yet when I read the whole collection I felt like they were coming together into something bigger. I think the Joshua stories will be the same way, and I’d like to see that whole.

    In both cases, but more so with Joshua, the underlying religious message doesn’t work for me (I’m not Christian) — BUT I enjoy the stories anyway. In Lou’s, and in what I’ve seen of Joshua’s, you strike a good balance, writing the message you want to write without being “pushy”. Rebirths felt more religiously assertive to me; I’d still read a sequel because I like your writing, but I expect to engage more with the Joshua stories.

Leave a Reply

